You are here

Andover Newton Faculty

Andover Newton is proud to sustain a world-class faculty. Many of its faculty members are internationally-recognized scholars and prolific contributors in their fields, passionate speakers, and community activists—in addition to their vocation as inspirational teachers, mentors, and both educational and pastoral leaders. Andover Newton faculty have been recipients of the Henry Luce Fellowship and Lilly Foundation Grant, have been honored by the American Academy of Religion, and have received numerous other prestigious fellowships, honors, and awards. Beyond the classroom, they speak at conferences, workshops, international gatherings, and in a variety of faith-based settings.


Maria Teresa Dávila
Assoc. Professor Christian Ethics

Robert Pazmiño 
Professor of Christian Education

Sarah B. Drummond
Dean of Faculty, Vice President for Academic Affairs, Professor of Ministerial Leadership

S. Mark Heim
Professor of Christian Theology

Jennifer Howe Peace
Assoc. Professor of Interfaith Studies

Gregory Mobley 
Professor of Christian Bible

Susan Suchocki Brown
Dir. of Ministry Studies

Benjamin Valentin
Professor of Theology and Culture

Adam Hearlson
Asst. Professor of Preaching and Worship, Dir. of Wilson Chapel

Adjunct & Visiting Faculty:

Ronald Baard
Visiting Professor, Pastoral Care & Counseling

Nancy Nienhuis
Former Dean of Campus Life and Vice President of Operations

Cody Sanders


Nathan Detering


Burns Stanfield

Helen Snively
Writing Tutor

Mark W. Harris

Margaret B. Hess

J. Earl Thompson Jr.
Professor Emeriti, Pastoral Theology

Pamela Shellberg
Visiting Professor, New Testament

Kirk Byron Jones


Faculty Emeriti/ae

Visiting for the first time? Please introduce your self here | Enrolled Student or alum? Please check the Community Login above and enter your given credentials.