Prospective Students
Welcome Admissions The Andover Newton Difference Study Programs Faculty Financial Aid Campus Life
Current Students
Current Students Home Academics Faculty Library Registrar Field Education Online Resources e-learning Learning Opportunities Special Programs Student Life Worship and Spiritual Life Student Handbook Housing and Board Student Resources Financial Aid Joint Programs
Alumni and Friends
Alumni Home Alumni Center Stay Connected In Memoriam Reunions Publications Minister in the Vicinity Giving Lifelong Learning
Churches and Ministries
Church and Ministry Resources Home About Andover Newton Events and Resources News & Links Essays Reflections and Sermons Lifelong Learning Faculty Publications and Blogs Lay Auditor Program Field Education Minister in the Vicinity
Lifelong Learning
Lifelong Learning Home Connect Login LEARN program Institutes Workshops Lectures Contact Information
Giving The Fund for Andover Newton Capital Campaign Photo Albums Planned Giving

News from the Hill June 15, 2010 | back to index

Search Committee for new academic dean begins work

On June 14, Andover Newton President Nick Carter announced the formation of a search committee to find a new academic dean and vice president for academic affairs for the school.

The Search Committee membership is as follows:

  • Prof. S. Mark Heim, faculty member
  • Prof. Gregory Mobley, faculty member
  • Prof. Maria Teresa Davila, faculty member
  • Dr. Lynn Eckhert, trustee
  • Rev. Liz Walker, trustee
  • Alison McCarty, director of recruitment and admissions
  • Seth Carrier, student and president of the Andover Newton student association
  • Dr. Nick Carter, president and chair

At its first meeting the committee reviewed the job description of the dean, established a process for the search, and authorized the posting of the position. The committee anticipated that the search will be conducted primarily in the summer and fall with the hope of settling on a candidate by January so that he or she can begin work no later than July 1, 2011.

The new dean and vice president will replace Prof. William R. Herzog II, who returned to the faculty and regular teaching on July 1, 2010. In the meantime, Sharon Thornton, professor of pastoral theology, has assumed the role of dean of the faculty and will serve through the end of the calendar year: December 31, 2010. On January 1, 2011, Robert Pazmino, Valeria Stone Professor of Christian Education, will take over the dean’s position from Professor Thornton and carry the responsibilities until the end of the academic year on June 30, 2011.